All about positivity

I’ve been thinking a lot this afternoon about positivity in life. I was back to work today after the long weekend (first day back to work after a holiday = not always the easiest time to feel positive! Especially if, like me, you suffer when the clocks go forward!)

004

My train of thought all started with a blog post I read over lunch about positive thinking on Mondays. Since today is the post-bank holiday weekend equivalent of Monday I thought it sort of applied. To be honest the content of the post didn’t particularly chime with me as being anything very new – it was mainly about recognising negative thoughts creeping in, which is fine as far as it goes, but I felt like I needed something more.

Then, on the train home, I was browsing Pinterest, and skimmed past a pin about how to style the top of your wardrobe. Now, I know this is counter-intuitive for someone who blogs, but it kind of freaked me a little. Don’t get me wrong, I really admire the time and energy that people can put into making the interiors of their homes look nice and I love seeing beautifully laid out homes online or in magazines as much as the next person. I love Pinterest for that, and I love interior design blogs. I love using craft to try and improve my home, and I know a lot of other people do too.

I have nothing against people wanting to style the tops of their wardrobes if it floats their boat, or any other part of their home or themselves, but it just made me think – when does it cross the line from aspirational to too  much pressure? Are we all just putting too much pressure on ourselves to be positive, be perfect, be the best we can all the time? My wardrobe top is never going to be styled…but after seeing that pin, I sort of feel like maybe it should be. Maybe it’s just me and I am too impressionable, but I guess that is one of the dangers of the internet – the affect on the impressionable.

So where am I going with this ramble? Well, as I got to think about these aspects of the internet, I started thinking about my blog. What am I doing here, if not trying to present something a little more perfect than my life in reality is? I’ve never consciously set out to present a perfect life through this blog, and I don’t suppose that anyone reading it would think that I had (my photos aren’t pretty enough for one thing!). But, I realised that to me there is a connection between blogging and positivity – and also crafting and positivity when it comes to that. Blogging for me is about doing some positive at the end of the day, rather than just slumping on the sofa, which is, if I’m honest, all I sometimes feel like. It’s not about presenting a perfect or controlled image as such, but for me it’s about creating something – in the same way as knitting or crochet is. Creating a blog is creating a website,  and it’s one little space in my life which I have some control over. When we in reality have so little control over so much that happens to us, having something that gives you that control is powerful, I think.

So I think what I am saying is that although the internet can be a confusing (and sometimes scary) place, it can also be very empowering. Blog, craft, create and have fun – it helps me to feel more positive about life and I hope it does for you too.

Anyway, I won’t bore you any further – and I will be back soon with some thing more interesting!

Leave a Reply

