Sweater round up

Hello again lovely readers.

Sweater round up

I realised that I have never gotten around to sharing the finished results of the two sweaters which I have managed to complete so far this year. Well, here are some snaps and details to satisfy any crafty, yarny curiosity you may have.

The first is a striped, boat neck sweater from a Milla Mia pattern. The pattern name is Emma, and I used the Milla Mia Naturally Soft Merino yarn in shades Fawn and Plum.

Emma sweater

I have been pretty please with the results. I knitted the smallest size and the fit is just fine, and I love the shape. It’s quite a boxy style with no side seam shaping for the waist, but it doesn’t feel boxy or shapeless on – the fit is casual but flattering. During the making up of this I also tried using mattress stitch for the seams for the first time, and was really pleased to be able to make neat, relatively flat seams in this way. The only challenge was in marrying up the stripes when joining the seams, but I think I did ok.

Ravelry page for Emma is here

The second, more recent make is the Mainstay sweater by Lori Versace. This is another boxy, casual sweater. The pattern gives you the choice to knit either 3/4 or full length sleeves. As I mentioned in a previous post, I was a little worried that the sleeves had grown after washing, but actually although they are on the long side, they are cosy rather than ridiculous orang-utan.

Mainstay 2

I used Debbie Bliss Rialto DK and a 3.75 mm needle for this sweater, in shade Charcoal. Once again using mattress stitch for the seams was great. I found the trickiest part of this sweater to be in picking up and knitting stitches for the collar, which I found a struggle to make neat and even whilst following the curve of the neckline.

mainstay3

On the whole I am happy with it though. As with the Emma sweater, there is no side seam waist shaping in this design, but it suits the boxy shape, which is flattering rather than shapeless when worn. The shirt tail hem also gives it a nice, modern feel. I can see myself wearing this a lot and am only sorry that I’m not likely to have the chance until Autumn rolls around again.

The Ravelry page for Mainstay is here

See you again soon!

Leave a Reply

