Inspiration hunting

I’ve been pondering today on inspiration and where it comes from. Like a lot of crafters, I’m always on the lookout for new inspiration for projects. Instagram and Pinterest are great sources – I hoard pictures of crochet and knitting patterns on Pinterest. Again, I’m sure that’s not unusual.

Dahlia3

But I was thinking today about why it is that I’ll pick on one particular thing and think, ‘yes, that’s what I want to do‘. What I mean is, we’re all exposed to a deluge of information every day – just taking images as an example, think how many you might see in your average day – not only what you see in the world of online – other blogs, Pinterest, Instagram, websites, magazines, but things you see in the world around you, at home, work, out and about. How do you decide what to pay attention to and what to ignore without getting in to a state of collapse? I think a lot of it must be subsconscious – after all I know I don’t actively stop and consider every little picture of piece of information that passes my way. I also know that I hone in on certain things, sometimes without really thinking about it or even noticing it. Then I’ll step back and see a pattern.

I find this often happens with colour. I’ll start to feel a little bit haunted by a particular colour or colour combination and then suddenly seem to see it everywhere. This week for example, it’s aqua and a sort of pale warm pink shade. I think this pre-occupation with blue-green and pink started a little while ago while I was working on my ripple blanket. Since then, even though I’ve been making things in other colours I keep being drawn back to that combination. I’ll have to find a way to get it out of my system by making something else!

lillies

Cushion

I’m interested to see if there is any way that I can use this subconscious tendency of mine to gravitate towards certain colours at certain times – maybe I can try and use it to be a little more organised in my colour choices for future projects. I tend to be fairly instinctive in my colour choices and don’t put too much thought into it before hand. As a result I’ll often feel that I have one colour in a project which seems like a bit of an odd one out, and I wonder why I’ve chosen it. I know other bloggers have written about their processing of choosing colours before – for example Lucy from Attic 24’s posts about her yarn pegs. I’m in awe of the amount of effort that Lucy puts into planning her projects, but I don’t think I could make that work for me. I think having a selection of many colours in front of me makes me feel too pressured – I need something to narrow it down with first.

pinkaqua3

How do you work out your colour combinations and inspiration? Do you think about it consciously or is it more instinctive?

7 thoughts on “Inspiration hunting

  1. I tend to work instinctively with colour and know what I like… And I love the combination of colours in your ripple blanket

    Like

  2. I’ve also wondered about this topic. It’s very interesting, isn’t it?
    I think your pictures are always very inspiring and I agree with you about first narrowing your choices. Otherwise it’s overwelming.
    Lovely blanket by the way, it looks so soft, the yarn and the colours.
    Have a nice day,
    Sigrid

    Like

  3. That is very interesting! I love every colour and I would love to work like Lucy, but I can’t, I go with my feelings!! And sometimes, I figure I return with the same colour…and each season I make a choice of wool and instinctively I pick the same colour!!
    I had my green period and now I am in my purple, pink period!!
    Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

